Posts Tagged ‘blog tour’

On the bookshelf this week, Great Little Gifts to Knit

Wednesday, September 4th, 2013
Share Button

In the coming months we’re going to share some new releases and some of our older, but favorite titles, to help get you inspired to try different techniques and discover new designers or just to motivate you to get some gift projects going.

Our first book just happens to be Great Little Gifts to Knit by Jean Moss, a wonderful collection of quick gift projects that are perfect for almost every occasion and every person in your life. We’re thrilled to be the second stop on the blog tour for this book.

The book is broken down into 4 chapters with projects for the home, baby, his and hers. We’re going to share two of our favorite projects with you.

The Hugs Socks, worked in Rowan Felted Tweed Aran, feature fun stripes on the toes and heels and a simple but graphic fair isle pattern on the leg, and since they’re worked in an aran weight yarn they will fly of your needles.

We also really like the Will-o’-the-Wisp Shawlette. You can customize this one by doing a bit of stash diving for contrasting fibers or colors, as Jean suggests in the book, or by adding a beaded accent.

Leave a comment below and tell us what little projects you’re excited to knit or crochet this year and you could win a copy of Jean’s book! All comments must be posted by 11:59pm EST on Tuesday, Sept. 10. Please make sure to leave us a way to contact you if you win! The winner will be drawn randomly and announced on the blog later next week.

Edited, Wednesday September 11, 2013:

And our Winner is –  Ellen who said, “I am going to do socks, scarves and maybe gloves. (okay fingerless gloves.)”

Congratulations Ellen! Keep an eye on your mailbox, your copy of Great Little Gifts to Knit will be arriving soon.

It’s never too early to get started on those holiday gift projects and with the first day of Autumn less than three weeks away the clock is ticking! Be sure to check out the project gallery to see all the projects from this book and be sure to check out the next stop on the blog tour and all those that follow.

Blog Tour Schedule
Mon 2 Sep       Wendy Knits
Wed 4 Sep       WEBS
Fri 6 Sep          Getting Stitched on the Farm
Mon 9 Sep       Stolen Stitches
Tues 10 Sep     Knittedbliss
Wed 11 Sep     Black Bunny Fibers
Thur 12 Sep     Rhythm of the Needles
Fri 13 Sep        Tiny Owl Knits   
Mon 16 Sep     Just Call Me Ruby
Tues 17 Sep     Zeneedle
Wed 18 Sep     Redshirt Knitting
Thur 19 Sep     A Friend to Knit With
Fri 20 Sep        Craft Sanity
Mon 23 Sep     Connieleneknits
Tues 24 Sep     Knitsofacto
Wed 25 Sep     Ulla Bella
Thur 26 Sep     A Really Good Yarn
Fri 27 Sep        Urban Yarns
Sat 28 Sep       Linda Marveng
Mon 30 Sep     Yarnings
Tues 1 Oct       Tentenknits